Ally Cooks Food · Food

Ally Puts Ramen in Fried Rice and Guac on Pizza

This week in self-isolation was all about experimenting with food combinations! I get that neither of these are that weird but they are certainly different than what I normally do.

Ramen fried rice

I was scrolling through food blogs when I came across Serious Eat’s post on ramen fried rice. I instantly wanted to make that dish (probably because I was craving both ramen and fried rice). I adjusted their recipe with what I had on hand and here’s what I came up with:

Adjustments I made to their original recipe: I made 2 cups (measured uncooked) of brown rice the day before. For protein, I scrambled 4 eggs, plus a half pound of ground turkey. Also threw in an onion and a few garlic cloves. For the fried rice itself, I seasoned it with soy sauce, rice vinegar, and sesame oil. I used one of those instant ramen bricks with its seasoning packet and hydrated that on the side before stirring it into the rice. Finally finished it off with a handful of chopped cilantro.

It was actually really good! It’s like eating normal fried rice with bits of ramen hidden throughout it. I served it with some roast broccoli and Brussels sprouts to make it healthier.

Whole wheat pizza crust from scratch + favorite toppings – topped with guac

As for the pizza, I followed this recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction to make a whole wheat pizza dough and then topped it off with some of our favorite pizza toppings. Mushrooms, spinach, basil, goat cheese, chicken sausage, and mozzarella all made it onto this pizza. We also used a jarred tomato sauce – I normally like to make the sauce from scratch, but stuck with the pre-made stuff this time around to make it easier.

This turned out pretty well too! The only mistake is that we may have overloaded the pizza with too many toppings – after it came out of the oven, the dough in the middle was still pretty gooey and soft while the crust around the edge was already done. We didn’t mind that though, and it still made for delicious pizza.

While the pizza was baking, my roommate made some guac but accidentally over-salted it. To save it, avocado after avocado was added until every avocado in the house was in that guacamole. It was still a tad salty so we spooned it onto our pizzas to dilute the salt out even more. The result? Two great dishes coming together to form one mega-tasty dinner. The freshness of the guac actually balanced out all the different savory flavors in the pizza.

4754EF01-8C6F-4972-9823-A4210DEC23B3

To trying new things while in self-isolation!

Leave a comment