Ally Bakes Sweets · Food

Ally Bakes Chocolate Fudge Cookies

img_9112

I was really looking forward to Election Day. Not only was this long, drawn-out spectacle going to finally be done, it was also the day of my thesis proposal to become an official PhD candidate. Preparing for this presentation pretty much consumed my life and prevented me from being able to develop this blog further, so I was excited when I passed the proposal and turned my focus to this blog.

Well then election happened – and I don’t want to get into politics, not here in my blog of happy things – and I was so upset and distraught at the outcome that I didn’t feel like doing much of anything.

Since then I’ve quickly cycled through the stages of loss and have arrived at a reluctant acceptance. There’s nothing I can do about this, except maintain a positive outlook on life and continue to contribute to the world by just being kind and open-minded.

Oh, and bake. I baked when I’m stressed, and I JUST discovered this week that “stressed” is “desserts” spelled backwards, which seems like an apt metaphor for my life.

Here are some easy and simple chocolate fudge cookies to brighten up everyone’s day, regardless of who you voted for! By adding extra egg and less flour (and three types of chocolate), these cookies end up being very chewy and thick, like you are eating fudge.

The dough can be very sticky right after mixing, so I recommend chilling it in the fridge for at least 30 minutes (even longer, if you have time) before rolling into balls for baking.

Here’s to a brighter future moving forward, regardless of the negative things people are saying, full of hope (and cookies). Cheesy yes, but it’s better than wallowing in misery!

img_9114

Chocolate Fudge Cookies

  • Servings: 2 dozen cookies
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Thick chewy cookies filled to the brim with several forms of chocolate!

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup (150 g) white sugar
  • 3 eggs (room temperature)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup (65 g) Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa
  • 1 cup (125 g) all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Melt butter and semi-sweet chocolate (stovetop or microwave). Let cool to room temperature.
  2. Beat sugar and eggs together in a stand mixer on medium speed until thick (3-5 minutes).
  3. Mix egg mixture into chocolate mixer. Add vanilla and continue to mix until smooth.
  4. Mix dry ingredients (cocoa, flour, baking powder, salt) together and fold into the wet mixture by hand until just mixed (don’t overmix!)
  5. Fold in milk chocolate chips.
  6. Chill dough in fridge for 30 minutes.
  7. Preheat over to 350 degrees. Form ~2 inch balls from the dough and press down slightly to form rounded discs.
  8. Bake for 10 minutes or until the tops get glossy and start to crack. Don’t overbake! Pull from oven and let cool. Enjoy! 
Leave a Reply

